Where Healing is Found

Sometimes I have lots to say, and sometimes I just sit quietly when I go to spend time with Jesus. Over the last few weeks, these verses and quotes have been sinking into my heart and mind. I’ve done a lot of meditating on these truths. There’s a part of me that really enjoys blogging and opening up some of my thoughts, but I’m typically a very private person so I don’t like sharing everything I’m thinking and learning…too personal. 🙂 At least for the internet…so, some verses and then I’ll get to the quotes.

I was in Hosea (chapter 5 & 6) a while back and years ago, I was probably around 16 or 17 when I wrote this. So this is right before I graduated high school and went off to college, lived and learned, had successes and made mistakes, but I wish I would have known how true this verse would be. “I will go and return unto my place, till they acknowledge their offence, and seek my face: in their affliction they will seek me early. Come, and let us return unto the LORD: for he hath torn, and he will heal us; he hath smitten, and he will bind us up….Then shall we know, if we follow on to know the Lord

In the margins of my Bible, I wrote in pencil that God heals ALL hurt and damage. Even after doing wrong, with forgiveness we can live Holy with Him. Do we seek a relationship with Him? Do we desire God more than ANYTHING? Is God#1? Do you truly love Him? Oh the heartbreak and trials I could skip if I remembered this truth! Keeping God first…is so vital to everything else going a WHOLE lot smoother and easier. I’m getting a little better about this…but there are still days when it’s easy to slip into old habits that are destructive. When we allow the distance to grow between us and God, He remains in His place and we are left denying, or trying to justify our actions to Him. We can often cover our faults to others, but God knows. We can’t lie to Him, and by not being honest with God – we are placing distance between us. Sadly, God realizes it often takes affliction for us to return to Him. Over and over in history we see Israel being miraculously saved by God, turning their backs on Him, being enslaved, crying out to God…and then it repeats. I used to be amazed at how they would continue this pattern. My mind cried “Don’t you ever learn!?” But then God strikes my heart and goes “Will you ever learn, my daughter?” *shame* I got the message…I do the same thing. Maybe it’s different. Maybe I’m not a physical slave to harsh rulers…but I’m a slave to fears or a slave to bad attitudes, or a slave to others’ opinions, etc.

But then GOD swoops in, as I (finally) turn to Him for answers and goes “I was here all along. Here I am. I will save you.” This is usually followed by me spending time with God a lot more consistently. I do find that the wounds we are afflicted with…either in God’s pulling us back to Him or in our own sin that damages us – God doesn’t care where the wounds come from. He heals them. Cares for us. Binds up our broken pieces. Creates beauty in a broken vessel. The forgiveness and grace found in Jesus is incredible. Does it take away the pain? Some…over time. Other pains will linger forever in the recesses of our mind because of mistakes we made, the scars will always be there. But the healing does come WHEN WE SEEK GOD! 🙂

Leave a Reply

